Creating short clips that can be shared with millions of people can help you kick start your career in the music industry. Today, TikTok is one of the best video sharing platforms for future music video producers, with over 500 million monthly active users.
Joining the TikTok community and creating your account is a simple process, but deleting an account is a little more complicated. Lack of privacy settings is often the reason app users choose to permanently delete their account. If you want to disable your TikTok account, you’ve come to the right place. This article will walk you through all the steps on how to delete your TikTok account.
How to Delete TikTok Account Permanently
As with deleting your Facebook or Instagram account, deleting your TikTok account will erase all data and content. The entire account is permanently deleted with all contents and cannot be restored.
If you want to give up TikTok permanently (at least with your current personal profile), you need to do the following:
- Log into your TikTok account
- Tap the three-dot icon at the top of your profile page
- Select “Manage Account“
- Press “Delete account“
- Receive and enter the verification code
- Press “Delete Account” again
Delete TikTok Account – Step by Step Tutorial
The next section describes the complete step-by-step process to delete your TikTok account.
Step 1: Open the TikTok app and log into your account. On your profile page, tap the three-dot icon at the top right. The “Privacy and settings” menu opens.
Step 2: Tap on the first “Manage Account” item. At the bottom of the menu that opens, there is a button called “Delete account”. Tap this:
Step 3: Enter your mobile number if you are not already registered for an account. Then press “Send Code” and you will receive an SMS with a verification code to delete your TikTok account. Then enter the code you received in the appropriate field and click Continue to confirm the entry.
The code needed to cancel your account will be sent to you via SMS and you will need to enter it in the confirmation field. This way, TikTok prevents you from deleting someone else’s account without your permission.
Step 4: A brief overview will open, informing you about the data that will be inaccessible if you delete your account. If you are sure, press the Delete Account button.
Step 5: Finally, a final confirmation dialog pops up. Press “Delete”. You will then be automatically logged out, your account will not be valid for the next 30 days and will be permanently deleted at the end of this period.
Also Read: How To Permanently Delete A Facebook Account
Think twice before deleting your account
If you don’t want to lose all the videos you have shared on TikTok, you will need to download the videos from your profile on your phone as all the data stored in your account will be deleted. Additionally, you will not receive any refunds for in-app purchases made while using TikTok. If you just want to take a break from social media, the app offers an advanced option to keep your account completely invisible on the platform. Below are some of the solutions you may need to consider before deciding to permanently delete your TikTok account.
Restore TikTok after Deactivating your account
Enter continuous deactivation mode for 30 days before the TikTok account is permanently deleted from the operator database. This means that the user can reactivate the deleted account within 30 days of confirmation. You can do this by logging into the app as you normally would. This will open a dialog where you can tap the Reactivate button to restore the previously deleted account.
Recent updates to the app and the introduction of the Consider Delete Account option made deleting your TikTok account faster. However, this action is persistent and becomes unavailable once the account is deactivated. Therefore, we need to think about this decision. Specifically, the app offers a variety of ways to increase privacy.